Back to top

A Brief History of the Diocese of Jerusalem

A Brief History of the Diocese

1841 The Jerusalem Bishopric was founded to establish an Anglican presence in the city

1845 The first Anglican Church in Jerusalem (Christ Church, Jaffa Gate) was dedicated

1891 Building work started on the Cathedral during the episcopacy of the fourth Bishop, George Blyth 

1898 The Cathedral was consecrated by the Bishop of Salisbury

1923 The Pilgrim Guesthouse was established

1957 It became an Archbishopric in 1957, although no Province was created at that time

1976 The Archbishopric came to an end and a Province was constituted, to be known as the Episcopal Church in Jerusalem and the Middle East. At that time the Bishop in Jerusalem was also given oversight of Jordan, Lebanon and Syria which continues today.

1976 Saw the first Palestinian Anglican Bishop in Jerusalem, The Right Rev'd Faek Haddad

2007 Bishop Suheil Dawani installed as the14th Anglican Bishop in Jerusalem on April 15

2014 Synod changes the title of the bishop in Jerusalem to the "Archbishop in Jerusalem" and the bishop during his time in office will bear the title Archbishop




The Jersualem Bishops

Under the Anglican Church of England jointly with the united Evangelical Church in Prussia

1841–1845: Michael Alexander

1846–1879: Samuel Gobat

1879–1881: Joseph Barclay

1881–1887: vacancy

Under the Anglican Church of England

1887–1914: George Blyth - Established the Jerusalem and the East Mission

1908–1914: Llewellyn Gwynne

1914–1931: Rennie MacInnes

1932–1942: Francis Graham Brown

1943–1957: Weston Stewart

Anglican Archbishops

1957–1969: Campbell MacInnes

1969–1974: George Appleton

1974–1976: Robert Stopford, as Vicar General. Oversaw the restructuring of the Province and Diocese

Episcopal/Anglican Bishops

1976–1984: Faik Ibrahim Haddad, the first Palestinian Arab Bishop

1984–1997: Samir Kafity, the second Palestinian Arab Bishop

1997–2007: Riah Abu El-Assal

2007–present: Suheil Dawani. Received the title of Archbishop in 2014